This museum is housed in one of the most beautiful buildings in town, a palace in an eclectic neo-baroque style, designed by Italian architects in 1890 for the rich merchant family Sabetay. After WWII, it fell into the hands of Romanian security forces, and in 1977 became the residence of Nicolae and Elena Ceausescu. Opened in 1990, the art museum houses a fine collection of Romanian artists like Geroge Petrascu, Nioclae Tonitza, Iosif Iser and others. There are also 100 works of Dumitru Ghiata. The descendants of the former owners were compensated in 2004. The museum is a part of the Iron Gates Regional Museum.