The famous Jewish School and Romantic style Great Synagogue were built in 1865 – 1869. Architects were Frigyes Feszl, who also built Vigadó and sanctuary dome of Dohány street synagogue, in Budapest, Károly Gerster and Lipót Kauser. Next to the temple is the small synagogue in the school garden, regularly in use by the small Jewish community.
The interior has been preserved in original size, and the facade was restored in 1983. Since 1981, it is open for tourists. Inside, the Torah reading table and the "Book of Tears" are remarkable. The latter one contains the names of 3022 martyrs tortured to death in concentration camps, mainly in Auschwitz.