The name of the settlement Zemun comes from the Serbian zemlja, meaning earth. The oldest building and structure of Zemun is on the Gardoš Hill, (from the Hungarian gardoš, a castle). The first fortifications probably date from the 9th century AD. Today, there are only ruins left of what once was the Zemun Fortress, built in 14th century. Since 1896, its centre has been enriched with the so called Millenium Tower. Also called the Tower of Sibinjanin Janko (or John/Janós Hunyadi), a famous general and nobleman who died here of the plague in 1456. Nearby there is also an old graveyard with Catholic, Jewish and Orthodox sections and the Hariš chapel. Visitors can enjoy panoramic views from the Millenium Tower.
Opening hours: Mon – Fri 10.00 – 13.00, 16.00 – 19.00, Sat, Sun 11.00 – 20.00.