Franciscans were in town from 1280 but had to leave before the Ottomans after the Battle of Mohács. A mosque with school (medresse), harem and minaret were erected in the former friary complex, but the church and monastery returned to the Franciscans in 1720. Main thing remaining from the baroque style construction is the bell tower, while the church has been ultimately rebuilt in 1925 in an eclectic style.
DANUBE.TRAVEL has no control over the website content generated by users and/or visitors, neither such content represents a statement, opinion, recommendation or rating by DANUBE.TRAVEL. For further information please refer to DANUBE.TRAVEL – General Website Terms and Conditions of Use.