Name of state: Slovak Republic

Total population: 5 404 555 (2012)

Capital city: Bratislava, population: 432801

Regions: 8 self-governing regions (Bratislava, Trnava, Trenčín, Nitra, Žilina, Banská Bystrica, Prešov, Košice region)

Geographic location: Middle Europe

Area: 49 035 km2

Climate: Moderate climatic zone, with changing 4 seasons, average temperature in winter -2°C (the coldest month January, the coldest area High Tatras), in summer 21°C (the warmest months July and August, the warmest area Danube Lowlands). In some mountain ranges the snow remains on average 130 days per year.

Longest river: Váh, Riverswhich flows into theDanube: Morava, Váh, Hron, Ipeľ

Danube length through the country: 172 km

International dialing code: +421

Official currency: EURO (from 1/1/2009) + National / Central bank (currency exchange rate) link – Národná banka Slovenska,

National Internet domain: .sk

Official language(s): Slovak

The most used foreign languages: English, German, Hungarian

Official script: Latin alphabet

National holidays: Public Holidays:

January 1

New Year's Day & Slovak Independence Day

January 6

Epiphany and Christmas Day for Orthodox Christians


Good Friday


Easter Monday

May 1

May Day

May 8

End of World War II in Europe

July 5

Holiday of Ss Cyril & Methodius

August 29

Anniversary of the 1944 Slovak National Uprising (SNP)

September 1

Constitution Day

September 15

Day of Our Lady of Seven Sorrows (Slovakia's patron saint)

November 1

All Saints Day

November 17

Day of the Fight for Freedom and Democracy

December 24

Christmas Eve

December 25

Christmas Day

December 26

St Sephen's Day

Time zone: Central European time (+ 1 hour from GMT)

Electricity: Slovakia, like most other European countries, has a 220-volt AC, 50Hz mains power supply and uses two-pin continental plugs.

  • My Danube
    Trip Plan

    Your Trip Plan is currently empty. Add a city, location or route to create your trip plan.

    Follow us on social media