Very few sources speak of the once important Levent Tabia Military Fort. It was built in the 1820s on the hilltop of Sara Bair near Ruse, at that time called Roustchouk, and played a role in the Russian-Turkish war 1828 – 1829. Reconstructed in 1830s by Prussian military engineers, it became a stronghold until the end of the Russian-Turkish War of Liberation in 1878. The fortress had ramparts and a moat and the entrance was on the Northern side. Twenty Krupp canons made an impressive defense. In total, it could host up to 3,000 soldiers. One of the first telegraph lines allowed commanders to be in touch with the city and their allies. Later on, it was used as an ammunition depot for the Danube Fleet, as the Treaty of Berlin required the demilitarization of the area. After the end of the Bulgarian Danube Military Fleet in 1961, the fort was abandoned, until renovated, creating a now famous restaurant (see Ruse, places to eat, and Danbue.travel, Roman Emperors and Wine route).