Situated in vul. Jeveriskaya 25 corner to Richelevskaya, the building started in 1855. Soon, it became the chief synagogue of Odessa. Restored in 1899, it was closed during Soviet time and used for the Physical Training faculty of Pedagogical Institute of nowadays Ukrainian Pedagogical University. End of 1996, the building was given back to the Jewish Community and completely reconstructed during the forthcoming years. It now houses also a school for 600 pupils, a shop, and a kosher restaurant.